How we make this list: we compare pricing pages, product documentation and public user reviews. Ratings come from G2, Capterra or Trustpilot, with the date we checked them.
Key takeaways
- Most "extended warranties" for used cars are actually vehicle service contracts, not manufacturer warranties, and the contract exclusions matter more than the marketing.
- Endurance is the best overall pick for balance, CarShield is the only real option for very high mileage cars, and Olive wins on claims approval for qualifying vehicles.
- Expect to pay around $95 to $99 a month for major providers, with your actual quote set by vehicle age, mileage, location, and coverage tier.
- Waiting periods are standard: most providers require 30 days and 1,000 miles before claims, while Olive has no waiting period.
- Always read the sample contract before buying, and confirm state availability: Endurance does not sell in Massachusetts, and CarShield does not sell in California.
Quick comparison
Is your product missing or out of date?
We review this list regularly. Vendors can request a listing, send updated pricing or ask about featured placement.
Request a listing
The best used car warranty companies
Starting price$99/month
Free planNo
Endurance is the most consistently top ranked extended warranty company in 2026, and the reason is structural: it administers its own contracts directly, so there is no separate administrator to argue with at claim time. Six tiers run from Secure powertrain coverage to Supreme near bumper to bumper protection, plus EnduranceAdvantage, which pairs breakdown coverage with up to $3,500 a year for maintenance like oil changes and brake pads.
Plans start around $99 a month, with a published claims approval rate near 83 percent and a ConsumerAffairs customer rating of 4.5 from nearly 20,000 reviews. Every plan includes 24/7 roadside assistance, rental car reimbursement, trip interruption coverage, and a free first year of Elite Benefits covering tires, key fobs, and windshield repairs.
Endurance accepts vehicles up to 20 years old with no maximum mileage on some tiers, though the waiting period runs 30 to 60 days and 500 to 1,000 miles. It is the best overall choice for drivers whose cars still qualify and who want the strongest combination of coverage and claims reliability.
What we like- Direct provider, not a middleman
- Six coverage tiers up to near bumper to bumper
- 30 day money back guarantee
Watch out for- Not available in Massachusetts
- Waiting period of 30 to 60 days and 500 to 1,000 miles
- Longer term commitments than month to month rivals
Starting price$99/month
Free planNo
CarShield has sold vehicle service contracts for more than 20 years and covers more than 3 million vehicles, with over $1 billion in administrator claims paid. Its defining advantage is eligibility: vehicles up to 300,000 miles, no age limit, and coverage for vehicles most competitors decline, including some salvage titles, motorcycles, and ATVs. Six tiers run from Silver powertrain to Diamond near comprehensive coverage, plus separate EV and specialty plans.
Plans start around $99 a month with month to month terms and no long term lock in, and deductibles range from $0 to $250 by choice. Claims are paid directly to the repair shop, and most contracts include 24/7 roadside assistance, towing, and rental car options.
The tradeoff is claims performance: a published approval rate near 71 percent trails Endurance and Olive, and customer complaints frequently concern denials on wear and tear items and pre existing conditions. Read the exclusions carefully, especially around maintenance documentation. CarShield is the best, and often only, option for very old or very high mileage cars.
What we like- Covers vehicles up to 300,000 miles with no age limit
- Month to month plans with no cancellation penalty
- Administers its own contracts
Watch out for- Lower published claims approval rate near 71 percent
- Not available in California
- Wear and tear exclusions draw complaints
Starting price$95/month
Free planNo
Olive is the digital upstart in this list: a fully online vehicle service contract you can buy without a phone call, with no waiting period, so coverage starts immediately rather than after 30 days and 1,000 miles. Plans start around $95 a month, and the published claims approval rate near 87 percent is the best among major providers.
The catch is eligibility. Olive covers vehicles up to 10 years old and under 140,000 miles at signup, with total coverage up to 185,000 miles and no yearly mileage limits. Plans are transferable, and Olive pays covered repair bills directly with a fixed monthly rate.
Olive is the best choice for drivers with a qualifying newer used car who want immediate coverage and the strongest claims record. Older or higher mileage cars need CarShield or Endurance instead.
What we like- No waiting period
- Highest published claims approval rate near 87 percent
- Fully digital purchase with no phone call required
Watch out for- Vehicles must be under 10 years old and under 140,000 miles at signup
- Covers to 185,000 total miles
- Transferable but limited eligibility
Starting priceSee website
Free planNo
CARCHEX is a long running vehicle protection provider recommended by Carfax, Kelley Blue Book, SiriusXM, and RepairPal, which gives it unusual third party credibility. It covers vehicles up to 250,000 miles and 25 years old, with flexible terms that suit drivers who want coverage tailored to how long they plan to keep the car.
ConsumerAffairs lists CARCHEX at about $1,500 a year with a 4.3 customer rating from nearly 4,500 reviews, but pricing varies by quote and no starting price is published, so request a quote before comparing. Some plans carry a 90 day waiting period, longer than the 30 day standard, so confirm the waiting period on your specific plan.
CARCHEX fits high mileage drivers who want a reputable broker with flexible terms. Drivers who want published pricing and direct administration should start with Endurance or Olive.
What we like- Covers vehicles up to 250,000 miles and 25 years old
- Trusted by Carfax and Kelley Blue Book
- Flexible term lengths
Watch out for- Pricing varies by quote with no published starting price
- 90 day waiting period on some plans
- Broker model means a separate administrator
Starting price$89/month
Free planNo
Omega Auto Care pairs breakdown coverage with a maintenance program that reimburses oil changes, brake pad replacement, battery replacement, cooling system service, and safety inspections, subject to caps and a 45 day invoice submission window. The deductible is waived when you use a RepairPal certified shop, and benefits include roadside assistance, towing, rental car reimbursement up to $30 a day, and trip interruption coverage.
ConsumerAffairs lists Omega at about $1,071 a year, roughly $89 a month, with a 3.8 customer rating from about 1,500 reviews. Coverage extends to vehicles up to 250,000 miles and 15 years old, nationwide.
Omega suits drivers who want maintenance help bundled with breakdown coverage, especially those near a RepairPal certified shop. Its smaller review base means claims experiences are less documented than Endurance or CarShield.
What we like- Maintenance program included with oil changes, brake pads, and battery credits
- Deductible waived at RepairPal certified shops
- Covers up to 250,000 miles
Watch out for- Smaller provider with fewer reviews
- Maintenance benefits have caps and claim windows
- Pricing by quote
Starting price$96/month
Free planNo
American Dream Auto Protect offers three coverage options for most vehicles up to 20 years old and up to 200,000 miles, from essential component protection to more comprehensive coverage of parts and labor. ConsumerAffairs lists it at about $1,149 a year, roughly $96 a month, with a 4.1 customer rating from about 2,250 reviews, and rates it as a value pick.
The homepage does not disclose a waiting period, which is a gap worth closing before purchase: ask for the waiting period, deductible options, and a sample contract in writing. Availability covers 49 states, excluding California.
American Dream fits budget conscious drivers with older cars who want straightforward coverage at a competitive price. Drivers who want published waiting periods and deeper claims data should compare Endurance first.
What we like- Plans for vehicles up to 20 years old and 200,000 miles
- Three coverage options from essential to comprehensive
- Competitive annual cost
Watch out for- Not available in California
- Waiting period not disclosed on the homepage
- Newer brand with less track record
Starting priceSee website
Free planNo
Toco Warranty sells vehicle coverage with two standout terms: no down payment and cancel anytime, which removes the two commitments that lock drivers into other providers. You choose any licensed mechanic, Toco coordinates approval directly with the shop, and once a repair is authorized you pay only your deductible while Toco pays the rest directly.
Customer reviews praise smooth claims and clear agent explanations, and the company also offers home warranty coverage and an employer plan called TocoAtWork. Pricing is by quote only, with no published starting price, so get a quote and a sample contract before deciding.
Toco suits drivers who want flexibility above all: no upfront payment and the freedom to cancel. Drivers who want published pricing and large scale claims data should start with Endurance, CarShield, or Olive.
What we like- No down payment
- Cancel anytime
- Choose any licensed mechanic
- Direct payment to the shop
Watch out for- Pricing by quote only
- Smaller provider with less published claims data
- Home warranty upsells on the same site
Starting price$78.99/month
Free planNo
autopom is different from every other company on this list: it is an independent broker, not a warranty provider or claims administrator. It compares vehicle protection plans from multiple administrators, explains coverage levels, deductibles, exclusions, waiting periods, and limits in plain English, and helps you choose before you buy, with support after the sale if questions arise during the contract term.
Plans start as low as $78.99 a month for qualifying vehicles, with most drivers paying $90 to $150 a month depending on needs. The company holds an A+ BBB rating and a 4.7 Trustpilot score from more than 400 reviews, with Forbes Advisor listing it among top auto warranties for 2025.
autopom fits drivers who want to compare several administrators side by side with guidance, rather than buying from the first company that quotes. Remember that claims are decided by the administrator, not autopom, so the sample contract still matters most.
What we like- Independent broker comparing plans from multiple administrators
- Plans from $78.99 a month
- A+ BBB rating and 4.7 Trustpilot score
Watch out for- Broker, not the administrator, so claims are decided by the administrator
- No pressure sales claim still means a sales call
- Coverage varies by administrator
How we chose
We compared used car warranty companies by eligibility, starting price, claims approval rates, waiting periods, and contract structure. We opened each vendor homepage to confirm it loads and belongs to the product described, and we used ConsumerAffairs 2026 comparison data and provider homepages for prices, mileage limits, and waiting periods. We excluded manufacturer extended warranties sold only through dealers and providers without a verifiable homepage. Prices are starting points: your actual quote depends on vehicle age, mileage, location, and coverage tier.
What to check before you buy a used car warranty
First, read the sample contract, not just the sales page. The exclusions list, waiting period, deductible, claim limits, and maintenance requirements determine what actually gets paid, and wear and tear, pre existing conditions, and missed maintenance are the most common denial reasons. If a provider will not share a sample contract, treat that as a warning sign.
Next, match the plan to your car, not to the headline price. A $95 a month plan that excludes your car's most likely failure is worse than a $120 plan that covers it, and a plan with a 90 day waiting period leaves you exposed for a full quarter. Confirm eligibility for your exact year, mileage, and state before paying.
Finally, do the math honestly. A $100 a month plan costs $1,200 a year, so it pays off only if your expected repair bills exceed that plus your deductible, or if the peace of mind is worth the premium regardless. Newer cars still under factory powertrain coverage rarely need a third party plan, while cars 5 to 12 years old with 80,000 to 150,000 miles sit in the sweet spot where repair risk is real and approval is still available. This article is general information, not financial advice.
Frequently asked questions
Is an extended car warranty the same as insurance?
No. Most third party plans are vehicle service contracts, not insurance or manufacturer warranties. They cover specified mechanical breakdowns under contract terms, with exclusions, deductibles, and waiting periods that insurance policies do not have.
How much does a used car warranty cost?
Major providers start around $95 to $99 a month, with most drivers paying $90 to $150 a month depending on vehicle age, mileage, location, and coverage tier. Your actual quote is set after you provide vehicle details.
What is the waiting period for a used car warranty?
Most providers require 30 days and 1,000 miles before claims, with some plans running 60 to 90 days. Olive is the exception on this list, with no waiting period.
Can I use any repair shop with a used car warranty?
Most providers let you use any licensed repair facility, and some waive the deductible at partner shops, such as Omega at RepairPal certified shops. The shop usually must contact the administrator for authorization before starting repairs.
Does a used car warranty cover wear and tear?
Usually not. Wear and tear items like brake pads, belts, hoses, and tires are commonly excluded, though some plans, such as EnduranceAdvantage and Omega's maintenance program, add limited maintenance benefits. Check the exclusions list in your contract.
Sources we checked (10)
- https://www.endurancewarranty.com
- https://www.carshield.com
- https://olive.com
- https://www.carchex.com
- https://www.omegaautocare.com
- https://www.americandreamautoprotect.com
- https://www.tocowarranty.com
- https://www.autopom.com
- https://www.consumeraffairs.com/auto_warranty/
- https://air.jogjapost.com/best-extended-car-warranty-companies-of-2026-costs-coverage-claims-compared/
Is your product missing or out of date?
We review this list regularly. Vendors can request a listing, send updated pricing or ask about featured placement.
Request a listing
Shihab Mia · Founder, Rankite
Shihab has 5+ years in B2B and SaaS SEO. He writes Rankite's software buying guides from pricing pages, documentation and public user reviews. More about Shihab.